Shadowhunters Season 2B: Episode 14 Review

Episode 14: The Fair Folk

Ooh Sebastian’s back! I’m just a little confused by Sebastian’s presence so far, he hasn’t really shown a purpose yet aside from the fact that he is this all knowing guy who knows everyone’s secrets, maybe this is just the trust building stage before his evil shows. I was missing him last episode simply because I think we need him to drive the plot forward. His plot is definitely thickening now, I am really confused about who is in his closet, but I’m sure we’ll find out soon!

I’ve been just a little confused by Sebastian’s presence so far, he hasn’t really shown a purpose yet aside from the fact that he is this all knowing guy who knows everyone’s secrets, maybe this is just the trust building stage before his evil shows.

This random girl with the glasses has been around the Institute a few times now. Who is she? Is she important?

I think in the scheme of how this season has been going since the summer premiere, this episode redeemed things a bit because I was actually interested in what was happening.I am very glad they held to the book material a lot more with this episode. They took the Central Park entrance to Faerie instead of how they went last year (with a magical Faerie portal that was not a thing in the books). We learn more about how Faerie works too, that the Seelie Queen can control how she appears to others and that it’s a very bad idea to touch, eat, or drink anything in Faerie. All things I appreciated very much. Then, there was the Downworld council meeting being led by Alec. I loved seeing Maryse supporting her children and understanding what Izzy went through. I’m glad things are better with the Lightwoods again for now.

I still think there’s going to be something shady about Luke’s new detective partner, AND there was that whole thing with the disguised voice on the phone that was telling Luke to kill Valentine. Who the heck was that?

I LOVED the kiss scene in Seelie. It was so well done down to scripting and effects, I believed Clary’s struggle. I really think that was the best scene of this season because I felt like it did justice to the scene from the book.

So let’s talk about that weird moment where Valentine has no idea who Sebastian is when he get saved from being strangled to death by Luke. That was strange. I’m trying to think of the first time we see those two together in the books, but I think they were just… together. Like wasn’t Valentine hiding Sebastian? I also find it a little weird that Valentine is still being held at the Institute and not the Silent City or Idris or somewhere more secure?

I thought it was really clever to open and close the episode with Jace and Sebastian (the two sons of Valentine) playing the same song on the piano. It set the tone really well. And I’m glad Sebastian’s evil is finally showing. BRING IT ON.

Letter grade: B+

Next week

Clary and Simon still struggle with the wrench the Seelie Queen threw into their relationship. Jace admits that he felt love for Clary when she kissed him in Faerie.

How are you liking this season of Shadowhunters?

Katie x

Comments

