2017 Summer TBR

I know summer is still technically a while away, but summer break starts in about 1 week for me and that’s when I get to go back into the swing of reading all the time! So, I’m jumping in early with a TBR of all the books I hope to be able to read this summer while I’m back home. This will just be a fairly basic list (sans photos and long descriptions) because I’ll most likely be writing a review for each of these books, probably not the classics but we’ll see.

Classic Novels

There are a few that I really want to read (/reread), one of which I read half of senior year of high school but just never got around to finishing it. I feel like classics are something I need to get into. I’m branching out into new things than what I normally liked to read before (aka only teen/middle grade novels) and I’m excited to grab a few classics this summer and dive in. I’m also taking a classic literature class next semester so I’ll most likely be reading some more classics for that class. It’ll be useful to be more cultured either way.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen- how have I not read this yet? I have no clue. I never had to for school, but it’s pretty much THE classic. So this is at the top of the list for me.

1984 by George Orwell- This is the one I only half-finished back in senior year of high school. I was very much enjoying this book, it was just a culmination of having too many other things to do and that my teacher didn’t really enforce us finishing the books we chose to read because the AP test was over and nothing else mattered much after that. I really want to start it over and get through the whole thing. Also, my favorite reality show that’s on every summer is Big Brother the idea of which is based off the Orwellian Big Brother figure in this novel, so that’s even more of a reason to read it!

Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad- I read this one twice. Literally. I read it once while super tired and didn’t remember a thing, but I was going to be quizzed on it in AP Lit so I needed to know what happened. so I read it again on a long plane ride hoe from touring Boston University’s campus and sort of know what happened now, but it’s probably time for another read through without the shadow of it being for school reading.

Modern Lovers by Emma Straub

Richelle Mead books

I have two that I bought last summer, but haven’t been able to read. So I can’t wait to finally have time to catch up on her books!

The Glittering Court

Gameboard of the Gods

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Literally a year behind, I plan to read this book. I bought it on the midnight release last year, but I held off reading it after I heard so many mixed reviews.

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

This one isn’t out yet, but when it does come out in May I will be buying it immediately and diving in. I’m so excited for the next installment of The Dark Artifices!!

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley

This is one I was granted a digital copy of through NetGalley and I plan on reading it next!

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

I bought this book ages ago and have been meaning to read it for about a year and a half. Soon my friends. Soon.

Comments

