WWW Wednesday

I haven’t had much time to write a book review this week for The You I’ve Never Known but that will be coming soon! In the meantime, this is what I’ve been/will be up to.

What  am I currently reading?

The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen Flynn (Release Date: May 2, 2017)

31371280


England, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in a field, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. They are not what they seem, but colleagues from a technologically advanced future, posing as a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren’t the first team of time travelers, their mission is the most audacious yet: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen.

Carefully selected and rigorously trained by The Royal Institute for Special Topics in Physics, disaster-relief doctor Rachel and actor-turned-scholar Liam have little in common excerpt their extraordinary circumstances. Circumstances that call for Rachel to stifle her independent nature and let Liam take the lead as they infiltrate Austen’s circle via her favorite brother, Henry.

But diagnosing Jane’s fatal illness and obtaining an unpublished novel hinted at in her letters pose enough of a challenge without the convolutions of living a lie. While her friendship with Jane deepens and her relationship with Liam grows complicated, Rachel fights to reconcile her true self with the constrictions of 19th century society. As their portal to the future prepares to close, Rachel and Liam struggle with their directive to leave history as they found it…however heartbreaking that proves.

Goodreads


I requested this title a little while ago on Edelweiss because I really enjoy historical fiction and I thought the idea of mixing it with time travel would be something new and different for me! I’m only about 10% into this e-ARC and I’ll definitely finish it in tie to try and write a spoiler-free review before the release date.

What did I finish reading recently?

The You I’ve Never Known by Ellen Hopkins

30312837

I really enjoyed this novel, review is currently in draft-mode because it’s been a very busy couple of weeks. I’m not going to post the Goodreads synopsis here because I think it kind of spoils the story a bit but feel free to look it up on your own if you are interested in reading this title.

What am I going to read next?

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Hannah Tinti

30556459


A father protects his daughter from the legacy of his past and the truth about her mother’s death in this thrilling new novel from the prize-winning author of The Good Thief.

After years spent living on the run, Samuel Hawley moves with his teenage daughter, Loo, to Olympus, Massachusetts. There, in his late wife’s hometown, Hawley finds work as a fisherman, while Loo struggles to fit in at school and grows curious about her mother’s mysterious death. Haunting them both are twelve scars Hawley carries on his body, from twelve bullets in his criminal past; a past that eventually spills over into his daughter’s present, until together they must face a reckoning yet to come. This father-daughter epic weaves back and forth through time and across America, from Alaska to the Adirondacks.

Both a coming-of-age novel and a literary thriller, The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley explores what it means to be a hero, and the cost we pay to protect the people we love most.


This was a Netgalley ARC download that I didn’t get to before the release date but I’m really looking forward to reading it. ‘I’m glad I chose not to read it straight after the Ellen Hopkins novel because this one also seeks dark and heavy. It’s labelled as an adult novel so maybe it will be even more intense. I like to scatter my heavy reads in between light and fluffy stuff for hopefully the one I’m reading now isn’t too dark!

 

Let me know what book you’re reading right now in the comments!

Katie x

Comments

