How to Train Your Dragon Book Tag!

I saw this tag scrolling through my reader last night on Birdie Bookworm’s blog, and although I was not tagged to do this, it looked really fun and I’m always looking for fun post ideas! I this How to Train Your Dragon is one of the better recent Dreamworks franchises too, so here ‘s what books I think match up to the characters of How to Train Your Dragon 🙂

booktag.png

Disclaimer: How to Train Your Dragon belongs to Dreamworks Animation LLC.

RULES:

  • You may use these graphics.
  • Link back to the original post and mention the creator (Jessica @ Pore Over the Pages).
  • Include the credits section at the bottom of this post.
  • Thank the blogger who tagged you.
  • Tag everybody, tag nobody, tag somebody.
  • Have fun!

Hiccup.png

Hiccup started out as a failure to his people. He wasn’t adept at dragon killing. Suddenly, he knows the ins and outs of the creatures he is supposed to despise. He becomes popular, and in turn he tries to use his fame to create an alliance between the humans and the dragons. In the end, he changes the minds and hearts of everyone in Berk.

 

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

Not e beat a dead horse because I think I’ve said this about in about 10 posts now, but I really struggled to get into Leviathan, but I finally got to the half way mark this past December but after that it was smooth sailing and I look forward to finishing the trilogy!

Astrid.png

Astrid is the fierce female viking. She is strong and smart, the perfect contender to be a dragon killer. She is suspicious of Hiccup and eventually discovers his secret. Once she sees the beauty in and of the dragons, she is usually by Hiccup’s side. She stands for her beliefs and helps her friend to the very end.

Celaena Sardothien from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

This seems to be a popular answer for this one, but it was hard to think of someone who was a consistently strong female character than Celaena. I have only read the first two books in this series, but even from what I have read I can see that Celaena is not one to let romance get in the way of her independence. She takes care of herself and has wild, andventurous tendencies that usually put her in some trouble, but she always finds her way out with or without the help of a man. GO CELAENA!!

 

Stoick.png

Stoick the Vast. He is the leader of the vikings of Berk. He is strong, determined, and caring. He can be thoughtless, but he does feel responsible for his people. He loves his family. After a while, he sees reason and recognizes his son’s greatness. He is a proud man, but he is even more proud of his son in the end.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

This dystopian series started a lot of trends in the YA genre, or at least I think so. At least in my realm of reading knowledge, The Hunger Games series was the smash hit dystopian series that really kicked of the genre about 10 years back, and I definitely think it was the best one out of the series I have read! I think Suzanne really paved the way with a strong dystopian series, not to mention the fact that it easily adaptable to film and the movies were also absolutely stunning!

 

Valka.png

Valka goes out on her own to live with the dragons. She knows untold secrets and comes out of nowhere in the second movie. She sees the world in a different light, like her son. Nowadays, most books are a part of a series. Authors have a hard time containing their words and creative worlds = lucky us!

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti

This may have popped in my head because it’s the most recent standalone novel that I have read, but I was really impressed with this new release. Usually, I feel like a lot of YA contemporaries have very similar stories and while Lizzie Lovett had a lot of those common elements, the story really kept me interested and I wanted Hawthorn and Enzo to solve the mystery of Lizzie’s disappearance. If you haven’t read this one yet, I definitely recommend it, and you can check out my review for more detailed first impressions here!

 

Gobber.png

Gobber is loyal and funny. He is a teacher, friend, blacksmith, and so much more. He supports Stoick and Valka, Hiccup, and all others. “He’s a bit gruff, but his heart is always in the right place.” (credit) If you were Gobber, which book characters would you ship?

Anna and Saint Clair from Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

This one is probably cheesy because Anna and St Clair’s story is the cliche finding love abroad thing that actually doesn’t happen too often I don’t think. But anyways, I thought their relationship was super sweet because they started off as friends who knew they couldn’t act on any romantic feelings but it was just a matter of time before St Clair had to end things with Ellie and embrace his feelings for Anna. This is such a feel good story and I loved these two ❤

 

Snotlout.png

Snotlout is impulsive. He speaks his mind and does what he wants. He is rude and also flirty. If he was a book lover, I’m sure he would buy a book because of an enticing cover, intriguing synopsis, or just because he can. Is there a book that you bought simply because?

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

I don’t make impulse book purchases too often because I work at Barnes and Noble and usually plan out my purchases to best use my employee discount. This book is one I did buy on impulse though (like on-my-mid-shift-break kind of impulse) because I saw it on the bargain fixture at work and couldn’t pass it up! At that point I had read Fangirl and really liked Rainbow’s writing style. I still haven’t read this one, but I really liked Eleanor and Park too so I can’t wait to read a more mature novel by rainbow. Landline will definitely be on my summer TBR this year!

 

RuffandTuff.png

Family and friends are the most important aspect in one’s life. Sometimes the representations in books are optimal (while other times the representation is non-existent). Books can contain perfect, desirable relationships that we all want to be a part of, so choose a book with a family or friend bond that you wish were real in your own life.

 

The Golden Trio in the Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling

I mean who doesn’t want to be friends with Harry, Ron, and Hermione?

Fishlegs.png

Fishlegs is intelligent. He knows dragons by the book, and by the book only. He inspires knowledge in himself and in others. As with Fishlegs, sometimes books make one want to learn something new, research a new topic, try a new experience, or go somewhere exciting. Name a book that makes you want to expand you horizons.

Fates and Traitors by Jennifer Chiaverini

This one is a little different and maybe less well known than the other titles I have mentioned. Fates and Traitors is an adult novel about the life of John Wilkes Booth and it really made me want to learn more about him! A lot of the events from the book are true in some capacity and I felt as though I was actually learning from historical fiction. Loved it. If you’re into Historical fiction definitely pick this one up!

 

Toothless.png

Toothless is a Night Fury. He is the only one left of his kind, making him extremely rare. He is loyal, fast, intelligent, and cute. Find the bookish equivalent to Toothless, a novel that is not read too often/under-hyped that you adore.

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Just kidding

Invisible Ellen by Shari Shattuck

So I feel like the point of this topic is that it;s a book that hardly anyone has heard of or red. Invisible Ellen really surprised me. I grabbed the paperback ARC from work one day a couple years back and it was the first “adult ” novel I had ever read. I loved it. I couldn’t put it down. Ellen is an overweight woman who lives alone and has very few friends. She puts in effort to make sure that she is invisible to most people around her, she doesn’t want attention. But one day, she meets a blind woman who doesn’t judge her by her size, because obviously she can’t see the things Ellen takes care to hide. All she knows is that Ellen is kind and caring and their friendship is inspiring in so many ways. There’s also absolutely no romance in this novel which is super refreshing. I definitely recommend this book, I think it’s a great summer read! There’s a sequel that I haven’t read yet, but I should probably try to get around to it sometime because I really liked reading Ellen’s story.

 

Boulder Class.png

Those in the Boulder Class are solid and resilient. Meatlug in particular is tough, obstinate, slow, and lazy. Sometimes it is hard to pick up the motivation one needs to complete a task. Other times, there are bumps in the road, rocky obstacles that get in one’s way. Despite the struggle, we have to rise about the challenge and persevere.

 

Fei from Soundless by Richelle Mead

Fei goes through a lot in this story, and even though she’s the chosen one who regains hearing while the rest of her village remains deaf, she takes on the burden of saving her village from imminent death and is almost killed several times along the way. I feel like there were at least three or four times when Fei could have died of starvation or being hunted by people who were letting her village starve to death.And oh boy that scene where she climbs back up the cliff to get back home, like that was actually some superhuman stuff that she definitely should have given up halfway through but Fei never gave up.

Mystery Class.png

Not much is known about the Mystery Class, hence the name. Dragons in this class are cunning and stealthy making them feared above the others. Barf and Belch are a part of this conundrum. While they share one body, each head has it’s own personality. To be effective they must work together.

I don’t read a ton of mystery novels so the only one that comes to mind is one I’ve already used for the standalone topic and that is…

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti

I probably have read other stories based around a mystery to be solved, but this is the only one that comes to mind because I read it so recently. I won’t explain again, but basically the book is centered around Hawthorn’s obsession with solving the mystery of Lizzie Lovett’s disappearance in the woods.

 

Sharp Class.png

“Sharp Class dragons are vain and prideful, and they all possess sharp body parts.” (credit) These dragons are sleek and shine, honor and self-respect. They are beautiful and graceful with their pointed limbs and they know it.

I’m struggling a lot with this one because I feel like it’s actually rare to find a vain character, or at least one that doesn’t have enough character development throughout their story that they are still vain at the end… So I really don’t know!

 

Stoker Class.png

Stoker dragons are small and unruly. They can literally set themselves on fire making them hotheaded. This class is an explosion in a tiny package. Find a book that is small, in physical size or page number, that is full of action, mystery, or willful characters.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

This book was hard to put down, also there was literally a fire involved in the main plot of this book so it’s fitting in multiple ways. I read this book very quickly and the mystery of it all really kept me hooked. At first you’re led to believe that Cadence is self centered (so maybe it would work for the vain category too) but once we learn the truth behind what happened that summer when she was 15, we realize that mot of the way she is can be traced back to the trauma of it all. This book is also a great summer read if you haven’t read it already! I picked it up in paperback in the UK and pretty much read the whole thing on my 20 hour travel day back home to Vegas!

 

Strike Class.png

Rare, powerful, inflexible, and loyal. These are some of the descriptor words for a dragon in the Strike Class. More prominent traits of the Strike Class also include blazing speed, cleverness, strength, and navigation. They are very rare, but very mighty. They are like a wild mustang horse: hard to train but loyal in the end.

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

In general, I’m not a speedy reader. I like to enjoy the books I read and break them up so I can enjoy them for longer but this one was another long plane ride read and I’m pretty sure I read 90% of this book on a plane from Chicago to Vegas which is about 4 hours I think. It was insane, but I was also very quickly hooked to the characters in this series. As I always say, the Infernal Devices is y favorite series by Cassie Clare and that started right off the bat with Clockwork Angel!

 

Tidal Class.png

As the title suggests, Tigal dragons are associated with water, specifically the ocean. Those in this class are usually larger than most other classes. Water can be soothing, but not with dragons. For most book lovers, we enjoy a relaxing read near the water (as long as your book doesn’t get wet). For dragons, find a book that matches their habitat in setting.

The Vacationers by Emma Straub

This is one I read a few years ago, again via paperback ARC (perks of being a B&N bookseller), and it’s set in Spain with several scenes at the beach or in the beach house the family is staying in. Another fun summer read, it’s technically an adult fiction novel so there is some more mature content in it but I think I read it around my senior year of high school so it wasn’t too much for me.

Tracker Class.png

“Natural born hunters, Tracker Class dragons have a highly acute sense of smell or taste that enables them to track down and find things.” (credit) Sadly, we humans are not trackers. There are some forms of books that are hard to find, like versions from other countries, special editions, hardcopy VS. paperback, ARCs, and more. Like Stormfly, these books are a torturing “mix of beauty and brutality.”

I’m not sure about this one either since I only ever get books that I see in stores or that look interesting on Edelweiss and NetGalley. Not much of a struggle there since everything is right in front of you. I suppose I could say Modern Lovers by Emma Straub because I requested it on Edelweiss knowing that I loved The Vacationers and I was rejected, but I literally just bought it in hard cover for $7.99 at Brookline Booksmith in Boston because I couldn’t pass up that kind of a sale on a book that’s normally $25!

 

Unknown Class.png

There is a lack of knowledge about these dragons, so they have not yet been classified. They could be sorted in the future, but until then they are stuck in the shadows of information. Like debut authors and their books, they are new and haven’t had quite as much publicity and appearances in the book world to be fully understood.

I don’t really have one for this either, again most of the new authors I hear about are books I download from Edelweiss or NetGalley but it’s hard for me to keep up with reading them all before they come out so I don’t have one in mind just yet. I would have maybe said The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett again but that one came out earlier this year and I was just late in the game reading it. I also enjoy anything by Adi Alsaid (trend here is authors that are a least semi-local to Vegas) but I have only read his first book Let’s Get Lost as an ARC when that one was about to come out so check his books out too they’re great!

 

Eel.png

Dragons don’t like smoked eel of lunch. They flinch and cower from the striped delicacy. Like the eel, there are some books that people just won’t touch. It could be because of a passionately harsh fandom or because you don’t want the next book to ruin your experience with the previous. There are many reasons not to read a certain book, and while people will try to persuade you to pick it up, it is your choice to decide what you will read.

 The Fifty Shades of Grey Series by E.L. James

If I ever actually read this book it will be as a social experiment XD No, but seriously, I have no interest in joining in on this trend, I have formed too many opinions based off of what I have heard others say about the books that make me believe I just wouldn’t enjoy them. I would much rather read books with strong female characters that were not started as Twilight fanfiction because, let’s be honest, I’m not a huge fan of the Twilight books either.

This was super fun! I’m not going to tag anyone specific because I don’t know if anyone has done it, but this tag has been around since last September. Feel free to do this tag if you want to and link back to me so I can read them!!

Katie x

2 thoughts on “How to Train Your Dragon Book Tag!

  1. If I were back in my pre-sixth grade years I’d probably have said twilight but it’s too late for me 😅 though I never finished Breaking Dawn and probably never will

    Like

Comments

