Let’s Talk About… Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

It’s happened! I have finally finished Leviathan 🙂 I think I have actually been attempting to read this book for a year, but I have done it at last.  *cue the fireworks* Anyways here’s a little review of the book. Hopefully I will be getting to the rest of this trilogy soon since I already own the books on Kindle 🙂

Synopsis taken from Goodreads

Prince Aleksander, would-be heir to the Austro-Hungarian throne, is on the run. His own people have turned on him. His title is worthless. All he has is a battle-torn war machine and a loyal crew of men.

Deryn Sharp is a commoner, disguised as a boy in the British Air Service. She’s a brilliant airman. But her secret is in constant danger of being discovered.

With World War I brewing, Alek and Deryn’s paths cross in the most unexpected way…taking them on a fantastical, around-the-world adventure that will change both their lives forever.

My rating: 4 stars

**Spoilers below**

I thought this story was a bit strange at first and I wasn’t sure if i was ever going to be hooked into it (clearly that took quite a while). It’s a steam punk twist on the events of World War I, which I really liked because I enjoy historical premises for novels usually. Once I finally started to understand the Clanker vs Darwinist business that was going on a sort of go more into the book.

I thought Alek’s story was interesting because he is the son of the Archduke of Austria Hungary, whom everyone that’s ever learned about the first world war at all would know is the man who was assassinated to initiate the entire war. I liked the idea that he had an illegitimate heir who needed to stay hidden in order to survive the war and inherit his family’s fortune and throne. (At some point I swear Alek had a sister but I can’t remember if she died or they just left her in Austria because she wasn’t important. Either way I’m bummed for the sister…)

Deryn (aka Dylan) is also a very interesting character because she pulled a Mulan and disguised herself as a boy in order to join the war. I actually just remembered that she ended up on the Leviathan on accident to begin with as she is far too new to the military to have been placed on such a big airship. She is great as a midshipman though, and loves what she does. Her passion for the Darwinist cause is inspiring and she keeps an open mind when she meets Alek and learns about the recent tragic events in his life.

It took until about half-way, maybe longer, through the book before Deryn and Alek’s stories finally intercept in a fate-of-chance way. I’m interested to see where the rest of the series will go. With the Leviathan back on track to deliver Dr Barlow’s cargo to the Ottoman Empire, it’s uncertain whether Alek will be safe after she leaves the ship. The war has only just begun, so Alek has quite a long while to keep hiding away, and I don’t know if he will be safe on the Leviathan for very much longer since it’s inevitable that the Captain will eventually figure out who he really is.

Katie x

One thought on “Let’s Talk About… Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

Comments

