Top 5 Wednesday: 2017 Goals

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme started by Lainey @ gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes. If you would like to join the group on Goodreads and post your own top 5’s click here! These posts are something I started doing here a few months ago and I really enjoyed doing it on the weeks I could think of stuff to write about so I plan to continue these in the same fashion this year too 🙂

  1. Read more adult fiction- I got really into reading “adult” novels at the end of last year and I really loved them. It definitely broadened my horizons a bit since I had only been reading YA Fantasy for the most part before then. I am, technically speaking, an adult, so some teen books just don’t quite appeal to me anymore. That doesn’t mean I don’t like them any more, it just means that the teen books have to have a certain quality of reality and uniqueness without being cheesy to interest me that is kind of hard to find right now in my opinion.
  2. Make some time to read for fun for at least 30 minutes a week- Last January, I started college and I have big chunks of the year now where I have no time to read a book purely for leisure. I am not saying that I need to put down my homework and force myself to read a Cassie Clare book, but I want to put a little more effort into reading books to escape for a bit. I usually just turn on Netflix or YouTube to do that, while I could really be reading (which I have no excuse for not doing in the first place). So yeah, I want to set aside a little bit of reading time each week to read an actual hold-it-in-your-hand-and-turn-the-pages book for fun this year while away at school.
  3. Try to go out and explore Boston with friends more- I am normally a really independent person, so if there’s something I want to do, I’ll either go do it if I can on y own or I’ll pass on it because I can’t do it alone. I feel like there’s so much I still need to see in Boston and Ineed to get out there with friends and do more stuff!!
  4. Engage more in the blogging community both on WordPress and on social media- This is something I have been doing more over this school break and I am already feeling an improvement in my enjoyment of blogging as a whole because I am commenting on other people’s posts. I really want to reach out more this year and just have more fun doing this little hobby.
  5. Drink more water every day- Man. Sometimes I am really good at drinking water, and sometimes I am really terrible about it. I felt like this needed to be a goal because I know how beneficial it is to drink a lot of water each day, but I am terrible about doing it, so this year I want to keep track of it a bit better, I know there are apps for that right?

Anyways, I hope everyone had a great holiday season! What are your 2017 goals? If you wrote a post about them, let me know and I’ll check it out 🙂

Katie x

Comments

