Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Publishers

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme started by Lainey @ gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes. If you would like to join the group on Goodreads and post your own top 5’s click here! Don’t worry, these posts will always be spoiler free!

I thought this was a really cool topic to look into because we all know who our favorite authors are, but we don’t pay much attention to who is publishing our favorite books. As a bookseller too, I can appreciate this topic because I really should know more about which publishers are connected to which books, but I haven’t learned much about it. For the sake of saving time I only looked at the publishers for books I have given 5 stars on Goodreads so this is only based on those but I think it’s probably pretty accurate. These are in no particular order because I love them all 🙂

McElderry Books:

McElderry is the publisher of all of Cassandra Clare’s books, so naturally I had to include it because I have read and loved at least 11 books from them!

Books: The Mortal Instruments series, The Infernal Devices series, The Dark Artifices series and Tales from Shadow Hunter Academy by Cassandra Clare

Razorbill:

Richelle Mead’s teen books are published by Razorbill and they are basically my favorite books ever so good job Razorbill

Books: Vampire Academy series, Bloodlines series, and Soundless by Richelle Mead

Scholastic:

I feel like everyone has a few childhood favorites from Scholastic (thanks elementary school Scholastic book fairs!), so it’s no surprise that a bunch of my favorite books were published by them.

Books: Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, Underland Chronicles and The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins, A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

Knopf books:

Honestly had never even heard of this publisher before looking this up today, but I was interested to see that a couple of my 5 star rated books had been published by them! These are both really incredible and unique books that I, of course, highly recommend you read if you haven’t already!

Books: Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Disney Hyperion:

I don’t read a ton of books from this publisher but I have really enjoyed two series that were published by Disney Hyperion!

Books: Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan, The Darkest Minds series by Alexandra Bracken

Simon Pulse:

Again, not a ton of titles but how could I leave out one of my favorite authors, Scott Westerfeld?

Books: Uglies Series and Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

 

Comments

