Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Took You the Longest to Finish

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme started by Lainey @ gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes. If you would like to join the group on Goodreads and post your own top 5’s click here! Don’t worry, these posts will always be spoiler free!

Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman (read July 25, 2015-Sep 6, 2016)

So, I have a review of this book up here. In fact it was my first ever review (so not gonna lie, it’s not that great so I will not be linking it XD ). But I think at some point I have expressed that I was disappointed that I couldn’t get to the point where I couldn’t put this book down. Usually around 25-50% through a book, I just can’t stop reading, but I never got that feeling from this book and therefore, it took me almost a month and a half (mind you, I was on a gap semester so my only excuse for not reading was my 2 jobs but that really didn’t make a difference).

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld (Sometime in January-still currently reading)

So Leviathan is written by one of my favorite authors and I think that I have taken so long to get into it because every time I have tried to pick it up was right after I had finished something absolutely mind blowing-ly good. So I guess you could say it just didn’t work out because it was attempted during a reading slump I guess, though I pride myself on alternating books well enough to avoid slumps. I am thoroughly enjoying Leviathan now and I am going to finish it in the foreseeable future for sure. I promise. Maybe. Give me a break, this time I can actually play the college student card.

Reached by Ally Condie (I have no clue how long it too to read this…)

I don’t really know when I started/finished this book, but I do remember that it sat half-finished on my book shelf for quite a while. I remember liking the series at first, losing a bit of interest in the middle of Crossed and absolutely losing interest in the dull stories of Cassia, Kal (? that’s his name right? I don’t feel like looking it up…), and Xander. There was just nothing there for me. Unlike Breaking Dawn, however, I do know that I stuck it out and actually finished this book after avoiding it and reading other things for months in between.

Voice of Gods by Eleanor Herman (read Nov 1, 2015-Apr 2, 2016)

Like the novel, the novella fell short of my expectations. I gave Voice of Gods a chance because I had hoped it would make me understand and appreciate Legacy of Kings more. It took me 5 months to read……….. so make what you will of that.

Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer (sometime in 2011 ish-never finished actually)

When I got about 3/4 of the way through this book, I was just about done with hearing Bella whine about her repeating life drama. I count this as the single book that it has taken me the longest to finish because I actually haven’t finished it, and I don’t even own the book anymore!

I hope you like these types of posts! I am not planning on doing all of the topics this month because don’t really have answers for a couple of them but I’ll do my best to put something else in their place 🙂 I’ll be back next week with another new post!

Katie x

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Took You the Longest to Finish

  1. I totally get it. It can be so hard to get invested in books. I’ve been trying to finish the Lord of the Rings trilogy since July. It can be hard. And I actually started Leviathan this week. Hopefully I’ll have better luck with it.
    Ugh. The Matched series. The first one was pretty good! But, like you, I got bored halfway through the second one and had to force myself to finish the series.
    Loving your blog! Getting a ton of good ideas and tips for reviews, something I’ve always struggled with.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I haven’t even tried to read LOTR props to you for attempting it. I own all the movies but haven’t even watched them… whoops XD also I haven’t known too many people with a similar opinion on Matched. I had a coworker that absolutely loved them. Different taste *shrugs*
      Katie x

      Like

Comments

