Top 5 Wednesday: Gateway Books to Your Favorite Genre

This is a new thing I am starting since I have seen it pop up in my Reader a few times recently and it looks like fun! Plus it’ll give me something to do during the down time I have on here since I can’t read as many books during school. Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme started by Lainey @ gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes. If you would like to join the group on Goodreads and post your own top 5’s click here! Don’t worry, these posts will always be spoiler free!

My favorite genre is without a doubt Young Adult Fantasy/Adventure! I know there are several ways of titling this genre but I say it this way because I work at Barnes and Noble and that’s the way they label it.

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

This was my introduction to the teen dystopian/fantasy genre and I fell in love with it immediately. I actually credit this book/series for making me like reading (I wasn’t really much of a reader until I read this book in 7th grade). So overall I highly recommend it! I haven’t read it in years and years and I totally want to reread it, I only semi protest this because I gave away my copies of the books and they have since changed the covers… I liked the old ones better XD.

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Richelle Mead is an amazing writer! I love literally everything she writes so I of course I had to include one of her books. Technically this book is placed under “teen romance” in bookstores, and yes, there is a focus on the romance between main characters, but this is also a great fantasy world. Get past the name, because I know that can be a bit of a turn off for this one. I definitely avoided this one for a while after reading (and not even being interested enough to finish) the Twilight series. But once you get over the fact that it’s a story about Vampires, I think you’ll love it! Richelle Mead uses a unique mythology for this series that is different from any Vampire series i had ever read before, and of course, she is great at writing dreamy romances!

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

This series is great though, admittedly, I have only read the first two books so far. I see mixed reviews (usually polar opposites) from people who either love it or hate it, so I think it’s worth a shot because if you love Throne of Glass, you LOVE Throne of Glass!

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen is another fantasy world in which the poor are separated and oppressed by the elite royals. This book (I have yet to read the sequel) was gripping in my opinion. I was hooked from the start, so I think it’s worthy of a top 5 shout out for sure!

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Oh, Cassandra Clare… I know I am constantly raving about her books on this blog, but what can I say? She writes an amazing world tat just keeps expanding and getting more and more complex and intriguing! This series can be a bit slow to get into (as is its first spin off trilogy), but it’s totally worth persevering through the first book. You’ll most likely plow through the next 5 books in the series before you know it!

These five books are always my go-to recommendations for people who are looking for a new teen fantasy to read! Let me know if you agree with these choices in the comments! Also comment what your top 5 would be if you want 🙂

See you soon! Katie x

Comments

