Fall TBR…

Since I have now officially finished my summer TBR list, I am just going to briefly go over the books I brought with me to school in hopes that I will have the time to read them! Aside from the required reading in my classes I will be attempting to read these books by the end of the semester (seriously though, I promise nothing!) The descriptions I am adding will be mostly from Goodreads so you can get a decent idea of what the books are about, and not just my sub-par understandings of them as a bookseller who has only heard briefly of them so far. Enjoy 🙂

Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld

Prince Aleksander, would-be heir to the Austro-Hungarian throne, is on the run. His own people have turned on him. His title is worthless. All he has is a battle torn war machine and a loyal crew of men. Deryn Sharp is a commoner, disguised as a boy in the British Air Service. She’s a brilliant airman. But her secret is in constant danger of being discovered. With World War I brewing, Alek and Deryn’s paths cross in the most unexpected way…taking them on a fantastical, around-the-world adventure that will change both their lives forever. (Goodreads)

From what I have read so far, this is an interesting world. Most of it is based on real places and mentions real historical figures, but some of it is fantastical and almost steam punk-y maybe?It’s set in World War I time, so a bit of history is mixed in with the fantasy aspect. It seems like a cool world though, and Scott Westerfeld is one of my top fave authors so I’m excited to finally get around to reading this story. I also have the other two novels in the trilogy on kindle so I have them, but I may not read them right away as I like to get through my print book first and save e-readers for travel and such.

Fates and Traitors by Jennifer Chiaverini

John Wilkes Booth, the mercurial son of an acclaimed British stage actor and a Covent Garden flower girl, committed one of the most notorious acts in American history the assassination of President Abraham Lincoln. The subject of more than a century of scholarship, speculation, and even obsession, Booth is often portrayed as a shadowy figure, a violent loner whose single murderous act made him the most hated man in America. Lost to history until now is the story of the four women whom he loved and who loved him in return: Mary Ann, the steadfast matriarch of the Booth family; Asia, his loyal sister and confidante; Lucy Lambert Hale, the senator s daughter who adored Booth yet tragically misunderstood the intensity of his wrath; and Mary Surratt, the Confederate widow entrusted with the secrets of his vengeful plot. Fates and Traitors brings to life pivotal actors some willing, others unwitting who made an indelible mark on the history of our nation. (Goodreads)

This is a very interesting story so far, I’m only on the first part at the moment but I like the historical fiction genre and this is a really interesting story so far!

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend. But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss? (Goodreads)

I have heard such good things about Stephanie Perkins’ books so I can’t wait to finally jump into one and read it! Hopefully it will live up to the expectations.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child  by J.K. Rowling

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children. While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places. (Goodreads)

I’m super excited to read this one as I am a huge Potterhead (see my post on the Warner Bros Studio Tour for a better idea of that!) so this is definitely something I look forward to getting to.

I also have to read Siddhartha by Herman Hesse and Why Grow Up by Susan Neiman this semester which may be worth reviewing too so I might just do that! Thanks for stopping by and I hope you’ll return to see my reviews of these books soon!

Katie x

Follow me on Goodreads to keep up with my progress if you’d like

Comments

