My Top 10 Favorite TV Shows

These are my favorite tv shows ranked from low to high, though it’s very hard to put them in order. I just know my number 1 fave and that will probably never change! Off we go!

10. Supernatural

11 seasons long so far, I continue to follow this show even though the storylines have continuously gotten more annoying since they found their father. Not gonna lie, I am not as big of a fan of this show as I used to be, but I still watch it because I like the show enough to see it out until the end which is why this makes the #10 spot on my list.

9. Doctor Who

Another show that I feel has decreased in value as it continues to go on, but Capaldi (13th Doctor) did actually have a few good episodes last season so I hold onto hope that next season could possibly be spectacular. The writing just isn’t as good in the recent seasons, but it’s another show that I just keep watching in hopes that it will get good again or end peacefully.

8. Parks and Rec

Ah, we’ve reached a show that has already concluded its final season. I actually didn’t start watching Parks and Rec until after the show had finished (which allowed me to binge watch it all within the span of a couple months during my gap semester). I will say that I loved this show. There were countless laughs and favorite moments for me, but it’s still not too high on my list because there are some other sitcoms that I personally enjoyed more (possibly because I watched them first), but I do have a lot of love for this show, believe me.

7. The Bachelor/ Bachelorette

Oh dear. A train wreck that is impossible to look away from. That’s the only way I can think of to explain why I have watched this show for som many years. It’s just not possible for me to start a season of these shows and not see them through to the end, so I continue. It’s my favorite mindless reality tv show (like the Kardashians for some people, but I would never watch that one).

6. The It Crowd

This one is a little known British gem amongst the American audience. Trust me, you have to watch it if you’ve never heard of it. It’s a sitcom about the IT professionals at a large corporation and all the antics they get into hidden down in the basement of the building. If you like the Office, it’s a good show for you. I laughed to hard at this show that there is just no way I can ignore it on my favorites list. There are only 4 seasons of this show and they’re 6 episodes each, but it’s a fun show to put on for a quick laugh. Super cute and super funny, plus it’s all on Netflix (score!).

5. Modern Family

Oh man, this is one of the funniest sitcoms still on air! This show follows a large and eclectic family living in LA and the writing is just genius. I should probably put this higher on the list (it would be #2 if this were purely a ranking of my favorite sitcoms), but there are some drama shows that top it in my interest levels. But really, this is my favorite currently airing sitcom and I almost cry laughing during most episodes.

4. Downton Abbey

Where do I even start? Everyone knows about Downton Abbey right? This show is a British drama about an aristocratic family in England from 1911-1925. They start with the sinking of the Titanic, go through the entirety of the first world war, and finish in the middle of the roaring twenties as views, lifestyle, music, fashion, and women’s rights are all changing rapidly. This is definitely one of the most well-written and well-executed period dramas ever to grace television with its presence. It’s a lovely show and if you haven’t watched it yet, you really are missing out on something wonderful (not to name names but *cough cough* Dame Maggie Smith is in it).

3. Reign

Reign is another period drama (can you tell I like period drama and historical fiction yet?) but this one is about France and England during the reign of Elizabeth Tudor and Mary Stuart. This show airs on the CW, which creates some decent quality shows (much better than ABC Family– I mean “Freeform” *she says saltily*) and I really enjoy watching this program. I only started watching earlier this year on Netflix and I was bummed that I would have to wait for season three to hit Netflix in the fall, but I actually figured out while I was in London that British Netflix added Reing episodes weekly during its normal airing so I got to watch the entire third season while abroad for six weeks (This was mainly due to my bein alone in my dorm on my third night there and getting a takeaway burger for dinner and sitting alone in my dorm hoping to continue binge watching Gilmore Girls, but finding out that that show was unavailable but THIS one was! Good story Katie, move along please…). Anyways, I am totally in love with this show and cannot wait for the next season to start this fall. It’s on Netflix (first two seasons only for Americans as of right now), go watch it!

2.  Big Brother

Only my favorite reality tv game show out there! Big Brother is the best freaking game show in my humble opinion. I started watching this one young, I think I was in my early teens, simply because my parents enjoyed watching it, and now I’m totally hooked. I don’t even think I can explain how excited I am every summer for Big Brother to start in July! If I have anything to say about it, I will be on this show one day.

1. The Office (US)

AHHHHHHHH MY ALL TIME FAVEEEEEE ❤ The Office is literally my favorite show on the planet! I love this show so much, I now have Michael Scott’s “World’s Best Boss” mug from the NBC store in New York and I would rewatch every episode over and over if I had the time. This show is a perfect example of brilliant writing, characters, actors, just everything. I mean, I can’t even do it justice, just go watch it all right now on Netflix and see if you agree with me. I hold this show near and dear to my heart the way some people do with Parks and Rec and Friends (I must confess, I like Friends but I have not seen every episode so it would probably be on my list if I had) and that’s really all I have to say about that!
I hope you enjoyed this little post about my favorite shows, maybe you agree with some or you have some choices that make it higher on your list than mine. Let me know some of your favorite shows in the comments! Chances are, I’ve probably watched those ones too. I’d love to talk about ’em 🙂

Thanks for stopping by! Katie x

One thought on “My Top 10 Favorite TV Shows

Comments

