Summer TBR List

DSCN0655

‘Tis summer time at last for me as I have finished my semester abroad in London, which means I will finally have some time to read!! This summer, I plan to read a bunch because I have just reorganized my bookshelf to realize that I have over 40 books that I haven’t read yet (and that’s not counting my e-books). I have a list of 7 books that I hope to finish before the end of August, and possibly one more because Carrie Hope Fletcher’s new book also comes out in July. Here’s a brief description of each book I plan to read this summer!

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Cadence Sinclair is 17 years old, but she has been suffering from migraines and memory loss since her accident when she was fifteen. Cadence is supposed to be Harvard-bound, but she also began to fail her high school classes after the accident. Her family is rich and owns an island where they have built four summer homes which the whole family visit and live in each summer. Cadence, her cousins Johnny and Mirren, and Johnny’s almost half brother (and Cadence’s almost boyfriend) are very close and call themselves “The Liars.” They do everything together except Cadence can’t remember why everyone broke off ties with her after the summer they were all 15. This year, she begins to remember everything and finally understands why her best friends went quiet.

Yes, the book in my picture is a paper back (which is not currently available in the US) and that is because I picked this copy up in England, where there is an abundance of paperbacks released much earlier than we do here.

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

I have been meaning to read this one since it came out in March, but now I finally have the time to dedicate to it. Lady Midnight is the first of Cassandra Clare’s new trilogy, The Dark Artifices. This series follows Emma Carstairs as she attempts, with help from the Blackthorn family, to solve the murder of her parents. I have high hopes for this book as I have always enjoyed Cassie Clare’s work so I can’t wait to finally finish this one!

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

I am looking forward to reading this one very much because I absolutely loved Fangirl when I read it last summer. Rainbow’s writing style makes her books very relate-able to ,y age group (the 18-20 somethings in college) and I can see that she writes great stories. I also have a copy of her book Landline that I have yet to read (shocker) but I hope I will be just as excited to read that one once I finish Eleanor and Park. The novel is set during a single school year in 1986 and follows the story of Eleanor and Park as they each fall in love for the first time with each other. From what I have heard, this sounds like another sweet story and I love that type of thing when I’m in between Fantasy worlds.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

I bought this book because it has been highly raved about and I really hope it lives up to the hype. Kady and Ezra are inhabitants on a foreign planet that is being fought over by to rival corporations, Set in the year 2575, this universe is at war and things are only going to get worse. I really don’t know too much about the plot of this book, but for that reason, I am even more excited to read it.

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

This book should have been placed in between the two Gi Fletcher books because, like I said, I like a nice fluffy contemporary novel in between fantasy books. I probably will be reading them in this order though since the next two novels are companions, but whatever. Crown of Midnight is the second book in the Throne of Glass series. If you haven’t read the first book yet (and plan to) maybe skip this section as I may spoil some stuff so possible spoilers in… 3… 2… 1! Celaena Sardothien is an assassin that was chosen by the King’s son to compete to become the King’s personal assassin. She has miraculously won this tournament against odds that were strongly against her and both her recruiter, Crown Prince Dorian Havillard, and her trainer, Chaol Westfall, have fallen in love with Celaena. Hopefully this sequel is even better than the original book.

Always with Love by Giovanna Fletcher

I am so excited to read Gi’s books. I recently started watching Gi and her husband’s vlogs (after already having watched Carrie Hope Fletcher’s vlogs for about a year—If you haven’t heard of them, check them out on YouTube). I will in fact be reading Billy and Me first because Always with Love is a continuation of Sophie and Billy’s story. In this novel, Sophie has gotten a bit more used to the limelight that dating a famous actor has thrust upon her and they travel to Hollywood together. Sophie begins to realize that she might not really be ready for the life Billy leads and she has to decide if their love can endure or if their story needs to end.

Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher

Billy and Me follows Sophie may through her struggle to keep a deep secret as she ditches her dreams of becoming a university student and world traveler. Then she falls in love with the up and coming actor named Billy Buskin. This relationship forces the shy Sophie May into the spotlight and she has to cope with this newfound attention and figure out if she can handle it. She also has to get ready for her secret to be revealed to the country. I am very much looking forward to these books. For once, I will be reading an adult novel! (I have in fact done this before, but I have been reading mostly teen novels since the adult fiction books I read last summer) Something a bit more mature is exciting and I am excited to see what these two companion novels bring to the table!

That’s all I’ve got on my list for now. Hopefully I can get these 7 books finished and more, but I figured 3-4 novels per month is probably even more than I can handle so it’s a good start.

Thanks for stopping by! I’ll be back again soon

Katie x

Comments

